More looose chickens, a.k.a. a funny story

So last night when I got home my sweet bride had a funny story to tell me.  The day before she had let the chickens loose for the day but didn’t think about closing up the fence when they were back in the coop.  Yesterday when I went out to feed them I went about my usual routine.  First I take some chicken scratch (mixed grains) and spread it out in the outdoor coop, then fill the feeders and water containers.  The chickens follow me like a pied piper until I feed them the scratch, if I walked in circles they would line up in a circle behind me so naturally they just are all close behind and not outside the feeding area.  Anyway, when I fed them I didn’t notice the open fence flap and just went and finished the things I needed to do.  I left for work and so did Angie.  She was home about an hour before me, but after dark and noticed a lone chicken running around in the yard trying to get in the door to the chicken coop.  A closed door, and not the one she came out of, but the one she could see her sisters through.  She was not a happy chicken!!  So Angie and her friend Cindy decided to try to rustle the chicken and get her back in the coop.  Sure wish I could have seen it!!  Two grown women trying to catch a lone chicken in the backyard!!  Eventually Angie was able to sneak up behind her and pick her up and back into the coop she went.  Mission accomplished and the day was saved.  Later when I get home she asks me “did you notice any of the chickens out this morning? I don’t think I closed the flap yesterday…”.  Too Funny!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment