Springtime

Hey it was spring here yesterday, temp was 50.  Sweatshirt weather for sure!!  Picked up a load of hay, 42 bales is about all I want to carry on my truck.  Thanks to Mark who helped me load the hay and put a few extra pounds of air in the tires I made it home safely.  Too bad Mark wasn’t here to help unload it, carry it into the barn and restack it.  I was about done after all of that!!  It will hopefully be enough to get us through until the grass starts growing again.  The alpacas seem pretty happy with it, that’s all I can ask for.

We have started looking at the seed catalogs for this years garden planting.  There sure are alot of choices when it comes to veggies.  I like to plant what we like, even if we put it into the farm market for sale.  Some varieties are better suited to sell, they look great but aren’t necessarily  the best tasting.  We are going to try a new sweet corn this year, it is supposed to last longer on the stalk with less starch conversion.  That means it should stay sweet longer and last in the fridge for a few extra days if needed.  Always a good thing. Less waste, better taste!!

Lets pray for Spring, it’s snowing here again…..darn groundhog!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment